Beyond Journals: A Psychology Department Media Resource Workshop
Hosted by Professor Denis Pelli on January 26, 2010.

NYU Welcomes Four New Faculty

NYU Psychology in the News:

NYU Psychology Awards and Honors

Congratulations to Gary Marcus who has been invited to give the 78th Annual James Arthur Lecture at the American Museum of Natural History. His lecture will be given on April 6, 2010 at 6:00pm.

Congratulations to David Amodio who has been selected as a 2010 recipient of the new and highly prestigious APS Janet T. Spence Award for Transformative Early Career Contributions. The award, created in honor of Janet Spence, is given to honor the work of young scientists whose work already has had significant impact on psychological science.

Congratulations to Athena Vouloumanos has received the Young Investigator Award from the International Society for Infant Studies, one of the most prestigious awards for young researchers in developmental psychology.

Congratulations to Kasey Soska who has received the Dissertation Award from the International Society for Infant Studies.

Congratulations to Nathaniel Daw who has received a Scholar Award from the McKnight Endowment Fund for Neuroscience

Congratulations to Tony Movshon who has been elected a Fellow of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences

Congratulations to David Amodio who was selected for the 2010 Early Career Award for Social Cognition by the International Social Cognition Network (ISCON)

Congratulations to Laurence T Maloney who has been elected a fellow of the Society of Experimental Psychologists founded in 1904 by Edward Titchener. Election to the society is intended to recognize "significant accomplishment in the field of experimental psychology." It has a current membership of 220 individuals, about 5-10% of practicing experimental psychologists.

Congratulations to David Amodio who has received the Faculty Early Career Development Award from the National Science Foundation.

Congratulations to Pat Shrout who has been elected President of the Society of Multivariate Experimental Psychology.

Congratulations to Elizabeth Phelps who is this year's recipient of the annual Margaret and Herman Sokol Faculty Award in the Sciences.  This prestigious award is presented annually to a member of the science faculty in recognition of excellence in his or her work for the University as a teacher, scholar, and colleague.

Congratulations to Liina Pylkkanen on her receipt of a Whitehead Fellowship for Junior Faculty in Biomedical and Biological Sciences for her project entitled "Neural Mechanisms of Combinatoric Semantics."

Student awards.



What brain activity is sensitive to the internal structure of words? Eytan Zweig and Liina Pylkkanen. Click image to see another.